26 July 2019

ICLEI Members make up the majority of finalists for the next European Capital of Innovation

This week, the finalist cities for the next European Capital of Innovation (iCapital) Award were announced. Eight out of 12 of this year’s finalists are ICLEI Members.

The iCapital Award recognises inclusive and dynamic innovation in European cities that delivers social benefits for all. From the 12 finalists, one will be selected as the winner and awarded €1 million, while five runners-up will be awarded €100,000 each. This money will serve to support and scale-up cities' innovative actions, and promote them both throughout Europe and globally. Winning cities will be announced by Carlos Moedas, Europeean Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, this September at the "EU Research and Innovation days" event, taking place in ICLEI Member Brussels (Belgium).

This year’s finalists include ICLEI Members Antwerp (Belgium), Espoo (Finland), Nantes (France), Hamburg (Germany), Bologna (Italy), Rotterdam (The Netherlands), Bristol and Glasgow (United Kingdom). Other finalists are Lyon (France), Dortmund (Germany), Bilbao (Spain), and London (United Kingdom).

For more information on the iCaptial Award, click here.